National Advisory Council holds first meeting; members urge National Center to “inform, connect, engage and advance”

Some of the nation’s most influential health care leaders came together for the first time November 11-12 on the University of Minnesota campus in Minneapolis to help define the strategic agenda for National Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education.

“Sitting in the room was a group of America’s foremost experts on health care delivery and health professions education. They urged us to move quickly with courage and vision,” commented Barbara Brandt, director of the National Center. “They emphatically stated, ‘ The world of health care isn’t waiting for education.’ They are keeping us focused on our primary goal of demonstrating the value of interprofessional practice and education, because they know it has the potential to be a game changer in health care.”

Representing health systems, universities, community health centers, national associations, think tanks and organized labor, the national advisory council is charged to “provide independent, expert advice and guidance—grounded in the broad perspectives and experiences of its members—to advance the field of interprofessional practice and education.”

The council was briefed on the vision, goals and new initiatives and progress of the National Center. Council members spent considerable time helping to identify priority issues, developing strategies for each and identifying ways council members could engage and add value.

Dr. Les Hall, interim dean, University of Missouri School of Medicine, and member of the national advisory council commented, “I believe this is about as important a thing that I could be involved in. Many people here are my heroes. I can’t think of anything more fun than helping to advance this work.”

Hear IBM's Dr. Paul Grundy on the value of the National Center.

Members of the national advisory council are:

  • Marilyn Chow, vice president for national patient care services, Kaiser Permanente
  • Elizabeth Clark, senior advisor and immediate past CEO, National Association of Social Workers
  • Frank Federico, executive director for strategic partners, Institute for Healthcare Improvement
  • Kathleen Gallo, senior vice president and chief learning officer, North Shore – Long Island Jewish Health System
  • Paul Grundy, global director of healthcare transformation, global well being services and health benefits, IBM Corporation; president, Patient-Centered Primary Care Collaborative
  • Leslie Hall, interim dean, School of Medicine; professor, Department of Internal Medicine, University of Missouri
  • MaryJoan Ladden, senior program officer, human capital portfolio, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
  • Lois Margaret Nora, president and CEO, American Board of Medical Specialties
  • Stephen Parente, director, Medical Industry Leadership Institute; Minnesota Insurance Industry Chair of Health Finance, Carlson School of Business, University of Minnesota
  • Scott Reeves, professor; editor-in-chief, Journal of Interprofessional Care
  • Dennis Rivera, healthcare chair, Service Employees International Union (SEIU); secretary, Partnership for Quality Care
  • Leo E. Rouse, dean, College of Dentistry, Howard University; immediate past president, American Dental Education Association
  • Stephen C. Shannon, president, American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine
  • George Thibault, president, Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation
  • Donna Thompson, CEO, Access Community Health Network (Chicago)
  • Peter H. Vlasses, executive Director, Accreditation Council on Pharmacy Education
  • Steven Wartman, president and CEO, Association of Academic Health Centers