Selection Process & Criteria

Eligability Criteria 


  • Applicants must be an accredited nursing school with graduate programs committed to working in partnership with other health and non-health related professional schools and a community-based clinical partner.
  • Applicants must partner with at least one other professional school (health or non-health) and a community-based clinical site.
  • The principal investigator must be a faculty member in a nursing school/program, based in the United States or its territories.
  • Proposals that demonstrate existing interprofessional relationships that will be accelerated by this funding are encouraged.

16 projects were selected based on the following criteria:

  • Creativity of the initiative and its potential to accelerate interprofessional collaborative practice in community settings

  • Extent to which the proposed initiative will foster learner development in the IPEC core competencies

  • Degree to which the initiative is threaded through the participating program(s) curricula

  • Demonstrated collaboration with the community partners, including how the initiative meets the community needs

  • Demonstrated involvement of at least 20% of the students from each participating program.

  • Extent to which the proposed student involvement will change the learning culture of the participating programs and promote “spread” of the initiative efforts within and across the participating schools.

  • Demonstrated commitment to sustainability of the initiative and/or continued collaboration of the schools and the community after funding ends

  • Demonstrated commitment from community organization to this initiative

  • Demonstrated linkage with Future of Nursing: State Action Coalition

  • Demonstrated commitment from faculty, school administration (deans) and university administration (provost/president)

  • Demonstrated commitment to working with an independent evaluation team

  • Demonstrated commitment of a cash match.

Selection Process:

  • The National Center screened applications and forwarded those that meet the selection criteria to a national advisory council for review.

  • Based upon national advisory council recommendations, the National Center selected finalists.

  • Recipients were notified September 20, 2016.