Save The Date! National Center Webinar May 24

Applying the Framework for educating health professionals to address the social determinants of health

Wednesday, May 24, 2017 

   3:00 pm ET/ 2:00 pm CT/ 1:00 pm MT/ 12:00 pm PT/ 9:00 am HAT

The Health and Medicine Division (HMD) report, “A Framework for Educating Health Professionals to Address the Social Determinants of Health,” was the second most downloaded report published in 2016 by the HMD of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.  This is your opportunity to ask questions of the study committee members and discuss how they are using the report.    

Three members of the study committee will discuss how each has used and implemented specific aspects of the Framework including:

  1. a description of Interprofessional courses built upon the social determinants of health concept, that utilizes innovative teaching methods and actively engages members of the community for educating students;
  2. an illustration of how a medical education department is finding ways to integrate the framework into the curriculum for health professional training in rural and underserved areas of the Washington, Wyoming, Alaska, Montana and Idaho region; 
  3. a description of WHO’s efforts to integrate SDH into health workforce education and training to prepare for integrated people-centered health services, how SDH / IPE are addressed, and how this links to the framework & conceptual model.

Hosted by:  

Barbara Brandt, Director, National Center for Interprofessional Practice & Education, Associate Vice President for Education, University of Minnesota, Academic Health Center Office of Education.

Moderated by:  

Patricia A. Cuff, Senior Program Officer, National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. 

Speakers:

Sandra D. Lane, Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professor of Public Health & Anthropology, Syracuse University.

Julian Fisher, Research Associate, Peter L. Reichertz Institute for Medical Informatics, University of Braunschweig Institute of Technology, and Hannover Medical School.  Committee on Educating Health Professionals to Address the Social Determinants of Health.

Bianca Frogner, Associate Professor and Director, Center for Health Workforce Studies, Department of Family Medicine, University of Washington School of Medicine. Committee on Educating Health Professionals to Address the Social Determinants of Health.

Register Here!

40