National Center Pioneer Award

Advancing National Center Pioneer Award

National Center Pioneer Award

In 2016, the National Center established a special recognition, named the National Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education Pioneer Award, to recognize interprofessional practice and education pioneers for the foundational role that they have played in advancing the field. This prestigious award is given at the discretion of the National Center leadership and is reserved for those who have made significant contributions that have forever shaped and advanced the field of interprofessional education and collaborative practice. Those who work in in interprofessional practice and education owe a debt of gratitude for the pioneers’ courageous vision and action to make a difference in quality health care by supporting teams of learners in many environments.


2022 Awardee: learn more

  • Dr. Jill Thistlethwaite, MBBS, MMEd, PhD, FRCGP, FRACGP

2021 Awardee: learn more

  • Global Forum on Innovation in Health Professional Education

2020 Awardee: learn more

  • Dr. Peter H. Vlasses, PharmD, DSc(Hon.), FCCP

2018 Awardee: learn more

the Founding Partners of the National Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education:

  • Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation
  • Health Resources and Services Administration
  • The Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation
  • Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

2017 Awardee: learn more

  • DeWitt “Bud” Baldwin, M.D., Scholar in Residence at the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education, Rosalind Franklin University
  • John Gilbert, C.M., Ph.D., LLD., FCAHS, Principal & Professor Emeritus, College of Health Disciplines, University of British Columbia 
  • Madeline Schmitt, PhD, RN, FAAN, FNAP, Professor Emerita, University of Rochester

2016 Awardee: learn more

  • Interprofessional Education Collaborative