Webinar: Avoiding One and Done

Avoiding One and Done: A Practical Model for Sustaining IPE Programs

Wednesday, November 29, 2017 
3:00 pm ET/ 2:00 pm CT/ 1:00 pm MT/ 12:00 pm PT/ 9:00 am HAT

Presented by: 

Teri Kennedy, PhD, MSW, LCSW, ACSW, FNAP
Director, Office of Gerontological & Interprofessional Initiatives,
School of Social Work & Faculty Lead: Clinical Partnerships,

Webinar: Avoiding One and Done

Avoiding One and Done: A Practical Model for Sustaining IPE Programs

Wednesday, November 29, 2017 
3:00 pm ET/ 2:00 pm CT/ 1:00 pm MT/ 12:00 pm PT/ 9:00 am HAT

Presented by: 

Teri Kennedy, PhD, MSW, LCSW, ACSW, FNAP
Director, Office of Gerontological & Interprofessional Initiatives,
School of Social Work & Faculty Lead: Clinical Partnerships,
Center for Advancing Interprofessional Practice, Education & Research (CAIPER),
College of Nursing & Health Innovation
Arizona State University

For fifty years the long and winding road of Interprofessional Practice and Education has been fraught with grant-funded projects that are not sustained past the end date and, therefore, do not build a vibrant IPE program.  One problem is that planning for sustainability should accompany program implementation, but in reality it is often addressed well after an interprofessional program or initiative is underway or nearing the end of the grant period.

The National Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education is partnering with Dr. Teri Kennedy, Arizona State University, Director of Gerontological & Interprofessional Initiatives, School of Social Work, to apply her practical model for sustainability in the Accelerating Community-based Interprofessional Education and Practice Initiative. The Kennedy Model for Sustainability evolved from a national study of Geriatric Education Centers and provides a practical way to address sustainability to support strategic planning. The Model is being used in multiple initiatives such as interprofessional university/community efforts, a new interprofessional academic center, and energizing a statewide interprofessional geriatrics society.

Join the National Center as Dr. Kennedy presents the model and provides real-life examples from current interprofessional practice and education initiatives.  Participants will be able to:

  1. Define four approaches to sustainability
  2. Identify factors that foster and hinder sustainability
  3. Discuss current interprofessional practice and education initiatives using the Kennedy Model of Sustainability

 

Register Now